Look How Things Have Changed

So much has happened since last I wrote. I took off to Austin for about ten days for Thanksgiving, and we moved almost as soon as I came back. While I was gone, Flair made this happen:

Lovely, lovely, lovely dark wood floors with grain that makes me think of tiger stripes. Purrrrrrrrr.
Then, Flair added base moulding, a door to the garage, some speakers in the walls and ceiling, light fixtures and light switches, and installed our fridge, stove, and a temporary laundry sink.
So that we could do this…

We moved in!!

Moving day was total chaos, but organized chaos. Six big strong energetic guys descended upon our rental, packed up all our stuff, drove it three blocks, and loaded it in. So far, it seems they did a good job packing– I haven’t found anything broken. They even packed the cat…

packed the cat

Thank goodness we found her in one of the first boxes we unpacked.

So I heard from my cabinet guys that the kitchen cabinets are arriving later this week. Until they’re installed, this is our kitchen:

the kitchen

Nice, right? And check out our dining area…

dining room

Aren’t you jealous? I’ll bet you wish you had all your dishes wrapped up in cardboard boxes, too, so that you had to unwrap about 20 things before you could find a lousy cereal bowl and spoon. I know, I know, we’re really lucky. But it hasn’t been so bad, and it’s only for a few weeks. Because soon, very soon, more big strong energetic guys are coming to install this in my kitchen…

countertop

That there is some pretty granite. That will look extra pretty next to our glossy white flat front cabinets and marble subway tile herringbone backsplash. Oh the anticipation.

Also, while I was in Austin for Thanksgiving, I finished the design project, The Everything Room for the Hillcountry Texas Ranch. Don’t mean to brag but it turned out fabulous.

The Everything Room

Check out more photos on StyleByDana.com

Leave a comment